Resolution Phase Question

A place to find, request and discuss rulings and errata.
Post Reply
Kedvenc

Free Trader Network Member
Term 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:47 pm
Medals: 1
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Resolution Phase Question

Post by Kedvenc » Sun Nov 14, 2021 1:44 am

Two captains are committed to the same :contract . The rules say in initiative order. If the first captain completes the :contract the rules say to discard it. Does this mean the second captain cannot now complete the contract?

In my mind this makes thematic sense as the captain with the highest initiative ( :ship + modifiers) can choose the initiative order, opting to be first captain, thus stepping in and 'stealin' the contract from under the other player nose.

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Resolution Phase Question

Post by Horizon Jeff » Sun Nov 14, 2021 3:09 pm

Kedvenc wrote:
Sun Nov 14, 2021 1:44 am
Two captains are committed to the same :contract . The rules say in initiative order. If the first captain completes the :contract the rules say to discard it. Does this mean the second captain cannot now complete the contract?

In my mind this makes thematic sense as the captain with the highest initiative ( :ship + modifiers) can choose the initiative order, opting to be first captain, thus stepping in and 'stealin' the contract from under the other player nose.
Multiple captains can all resolve the same :contract, but upon re-reviewing the wording it clearly doesn't explain that well at all because following the sequence rules as written leads to the :contract being discarded as you described.

The intended sequence, which we'll correct in our errata pass, is:

1. All eligible captains attempt to complete the :contract. If multiple do so, then each receives one fewer :vp.
2. Any captains who completed the :contract may attempt any number of its :subplot
3. If the :contract was completed by anyone, discard and replace it by the owner of that contract slot.

Kedvenc

Free Trader Network Member
Term 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:47 pm
Medals: 1
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Resolution Phase Question

Post by Kedvenc » Mon Nov 15, 2021 2:58 pm

If the :contract is completed by any captain then I assume all other captains, regardless of whether they completed or not, are then uncommitted once the :contract is replaced?

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Resolution Phase Question

Post by Horizon Jeff » Mon Nov 15, 2021 5:26 pm

Kedvenc wrote:
Mon Nov 15, 2021 2:58 pm
If the :contract is completed by any captain then I assume all other captains, regardless of whether they completed or not, are then uncommitted once the :contract is replaced?
Correct!

Kedvenc

Free Trader Network Member
Term 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:47 pm
Medals: 1
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Resolution Phase Question

Post by Kedvenc » Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:29 am

Thanks Jeff

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests