Encountering A Favor Returned on the very first turn

A place to find, request and discuss rulings and errata.
Post Reply
pvanniervp
Term 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:19 am
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Encountering A Favor Returned on the very first turn

Post by pvanniervp » Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:59 am

Hello to all,

Quick question about encountering A Favor Returned :complication on the very first turn of the game.

This :complication requires one to jettison a :connection or lose 1 :vp.

If I don't have a :connection, am I supposed to lose one :vp, taking my total :vp to - 1?

I wasn't sure, because modifiers can temporarily take the total to a negative value, so I was just wondering if this also applies to victory points.

Thanks.

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 466
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Encountering A Favor Returned on the very first turn

Post by Horizon Jeff » Mon Jan 17, 2022 11:14 am

pvanniervp wrote:
Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:59 am
Hello to all,

Quick question about encountering A Favor Returned :complication on the very first turn of the game.

This :complication requires one to jettison a :connection or lose 1 :vp.

If I don't have a :connection, am I supposed to lose one :vp, taking my total :vp to - 1?

I wasn't sure, because modifiers can temporarily take the total to a negative value, so I was just wondering if this also applies to victory points.

Thanks.
In this instance, in order to fulfill the :complication you would need to actually have an :upgrade or a :vp. But, for instance, if it said pay X for each :upgrade or :vp, that value could be :credit0 and you would still fulfill it.

User avatar
Horizon Ian

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 3
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 7:32 am
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Encountering A Favor Returned on the very first turn

Post by Horizon Ian » Wed Jan 19, 2022 12:00 pm

Ah icons.

What Jeff said but he means connection not upgrade.

So, in order to resolve the complication, you either jettison a connection or you lose one of your victory points, where you can only lose one if you have one.
:connection
Ian Lee
Lead Developer
:connection

pvanniervp
Term 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:19 am
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Encountering A Favor Returned on the very first turn

Post by pvanniervp » Thu Mar 10, 2022 10:28 am

Thanks for clarifying!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest