Second game, second question

A place to find, request and discuss rulings and errata.
Post Reply
User avatar
jmt

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Boardgamegeek Rating Facebook
Term 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:11 am
Medals: 4
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Second game, second question

Post by jmt » Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:32 pm

If a complication says "Return an :upgrade you control to your owners hand" and you have no :upgrades on your ship, does that mean you cannot resolve the complication or the complication is resolved by default?

AllanJR

Kickstarter Backer
Term 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:28 pm
Medals: 1
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Second game, second question

Post by AllanJR » Sat Jan 27, 2018 8:08 pm

We played it that you could resolve it, and at no real cost.

User avatar
Horizon Ian

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2017 7:32 am
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Second game, second question

Post by Horizon Ian » Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:10 am

If a complication directs to do something and you cannot do it, then you cannot resolve the complication. Similarly, the complication that says to disperse 7 cards in your discard pile means you have to have 7 cards or more in your discard pile to disperse.

Note the difference with "pay 1 for each upgrade" or the like, where zero is an acceptable value. Also, we would look to use wording along the lines of "If you control an upgrade, jettison an upgrade you control." to be clearer when not controlling a card lets you off the hook.
:connection
Ian Lee
Lead Developer
:connection

User avatar
jmt

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Boardgamegeek Rating Facebook
Term 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 11:11 am
Medals: 4
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Second game, second question

Post by jmt » Sun Jan 28, 2018 9:13 am

Thanks, Ian.
This should probably go in a FAQ as I can see someone explicitly not equip a ship to get a "free :complication resolution".

AllanJR

Kickstarter Backer
Term 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 3:28 pm
Medals: 1
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Second game, second question

Post by AllanJR » Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:25 am

Ohhh, that is quite different than how we played it. Okay, duly noted.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests