Paying the Jump Cost

A place to find, request and discuss rulings and errata.
Post Reply
User avatar
Cpt Ric

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Easter Egg Miscellaneous Contribution Boardgamegeek Rating Facebook Twitter
Term 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 3:15 am
Medals: 7
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Paying the Jump Cost

Post by Cpt Ric » Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:04 am

When you are able to satisfy all :complication but are not able to satisfy the :contract you stay committed to the :contract . On the next round do you have to pay the jump cost again, or are you considered still there so to speak? Thanks!

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Paying the Jump Cost

Post by Horizon Jeff » Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:26 am

You only need to pay the :distance cost when you first attempt to pursue the :contract (page 11 of the rulebook).

User avatar
Frewfrux

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Shadow Easter Egg Easter Egg Miscellaneous Contribution Facebook
Term 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:07 am
Medals: 6
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Paying the Jump Cost

Post by Frewfrux » Sat Feb 17, 2018 8:35 pm

Along similar lines, with regards to a :distance greater than your :jump rating, the rules on page 11 about paying the cost in this case state:

"Multiple jumps may be required to cover the distance."

Is that Multiple jumps on successive turns, or do you pay the cost to cover the whole :distance all up front in one turn? (I've been assuming it's the later, but thought it prudent to double check.)
tn+ru+ge+!3ic-jt-au+pita*he+

Admrobbo

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Community Honor Early Contributor
Term 1
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:54 am
Medals: 5
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Paying the Jump Cost

Post by Admrobbo » Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:51 am

Hi, the whole jump cost is paid at time you choose to pursue that contract.

You then stay there until contract is completed or you abandon thst contract.

User avatar
Frewfrux

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Shadow Easter Egg Easter Egg Miscellaneous Contribution Facebook
Term 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:07 am
Medals: 6
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Paying the Jump Cost

Post by Frewfrux » Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:41 am

Thanks for the clarification. I started playing as if a single jump was a single action (and the rule states you can only take one action that phase) but quickly saw that I had to be doing it wrong. That said, it certainly shows the advantage a 2-jump ship would have over a 1-jump ship.
tn+ru+ge+!3ic-jt-au+pita*he+

nanodeath
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:57 pm
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Paying the Jump Cost

Post by nanodeath » Sat Oct 06, 2018 5:04 pm

Thanks Cpt Ric and Frewfrux for asking these questions -- I had exactly the same question.

To make the jump cost abundantly clear to me...is this correct?:

My ship has a :jump of 1 and I'm pursuing a contract with :distance 3. When I first decide to pursue the contract, I draw one card from the top of my deck, see it's 2 :ev, discard it, draw another card, see it's 1 :ev, discard it, and now I'm effectively "on site". Correct? (And instead of drawing cards from my deck, I could have also used cards from my hand)

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Paying the Jump Cost

Post by Horizon Jeff » Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:17 pm

Correct!

hanahana
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:38 pm
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Paying the Jump Cost

Post by hanahana » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:40 pm

that is a good post ...well done
Graduated from Soran University with First Class Degree with Honours in Computer Science

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest