Complication's Abandonment Modifier

A place to find, request and discuss rulings and errata.
User avatar
Frewfrux

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Shadow Easter Egg Easter Egg Miscellaneous Contribution Facebook
Term 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:07 am
Medals: 6
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by Frewfrux » Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:13 am

When does a :complication's :abandonment modifier take effect, how long does it last, and are all captains affected by it?

Options for when it takes effect:
- When the :complication is first revealed
- When the :complication is first attempted
- When a captain goes to pay the :abandonment penalty

Options for how long it lasts
- Until the :contract is removed from play
- Until the :complication is resolved
- The rest of the round/turn (depending on when it takes effect)

Options for who is affected by it:
- All captains attempting the :contract
- Just the acting captain

Example:

There's a Turkera Lines Subcontract :contract card in play with Cryptic Rider :complication and An Expedient Arrangement :complication.

Cryptic Rider says to pay the :abandonment cost of the contract, and An Expedient Arrangement modifies that cost by - :credit1.

If An Expedient Arrangement is resolved first, does it's - :credit1 still have an effect when resolving Cryptic Rider? If Cryptic Rider is resolved first, does the - :credit1 from An Expedient Arrangement apply?
tn+ru+ge+!3ic-jt-au+pita*he+

User avatar
Frewfrux

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Shadow Easter Egg Easter Egg Miscellaneous Contribution Facebook
Term 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:07 am
Medals: 6
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by Frewfrux » Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:28 am

Page 29 states:
During the game a captain may find it necessary to abandon a :contract, at which point that player is required to pay the :linkopen :contract :abandonment :linkedclose cost, modified by any :abandonment modifiers from attached :complication.
That makes me think that the :abandonment modifiers only have an effect as long as they are revealed and attached.
tn+ru+ge+!3ic-jt-au+pita*he+

User avatar
Frewfrux

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Shadow Easter Egg Easter Egg Miscellaneous Contribution Facebook
Term 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:07 am
Medals: 6
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by Frewfrux » Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:31 am

That means that, if a :complication is resolved, it's modifier no longer applies.

So in my example the captain would need to resolve Cryptic Rider first in order to take advantage of An Expedient Arrangement's - :credit1.

Hmmmm....I think I answered my own question.
tn+ru+ge+!3ic-jt-au+pita*he+

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by Horizon Jeff » Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:34 am

You've got it!

User avatar
Frewfrux

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Shadow Easter Egg Easter Egg Miscellaneous Contribution Facebook
Term 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:07 am
Medals: 6
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by Frewfrux » Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:53 pm

As a subtle note, this would also means that the :abandonment modifiers are not cumulative, right?
tn+ru+ge+!3ic-jt-au+pita*he+

User avatar
Frewfrux

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Shadow Easter Egg Easter Egg Miscellaneous Contribution Facebook
Term 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:07 am
Medals: 6
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by Frewfrux » Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:54 pm

Frewfrux wrote:
Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:53 pm
As a subtle note, this would also means that the :abandonment modifiers are not cumulative, right?
I don't know why that is a "subtle note."
tn+ru+ge+!3ic-jt-au+pita*he+

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by Horizon Jeff » Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:12 am

:abandonment modifiers are cumulative. In fact, all modifiers of any kind stack (rulebook, page 22 sidebar).

User avatar
Frewfrux

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Shadow Easter Egg Easter Egg Miscellaneous Contribution Facebook
Term 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:07 am
Medals: 6
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by Frewfrux » Fri Mar 02, 2018 2:30 pm

Why did I think they weren't cumulative? I don't know what I was thinking there.

Maybe I was thinking about going into the negatives for cost. I'm guessing that the minimum cost to cancel a contract is zero, right? You can't get "credit" if the mods bring the cost to -2 or something.
tn+ru+ge+!3ic-jt-au+pita*he+

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by Horizon Jeff » Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:12 pm

Correct. In fact, no modifier may result in a final value less than zero (again, page 22 sidebar explains it).

korric
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 9:26 am
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Complication's Abandonment Modifier

Post by korric » Tue Dec 31, 2019 5:19 am

Just to be sure that I understand this correctly, the cost to satisfy Cryptic Rider in this case would be 4; that's 3 for the base cancellation cost, +2 for Cryptic Rider, -1 for An Expedient Arrangement. Is this correct?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest