Question: Class X, Startown Bar

A place to find, request and discuss rulings and errata.
Post Reply
Mithgiladan

Miscellaneous Contribution
Term 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:59 pm
Medals: 1
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Question: Class X, Startown Bar

Post by Mithgiladan » Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:48 am

OK,

Where this card says:
"Search your deck for an Unsavory card and move it to your hand."

"Search for an Unsavory" is not limited, so it appears to mean you can use this card as an alternative method to search for "All" "Unsavory" cards while at the same time using it to see what cards you have up-coming at the same time.

Yes, you can only move one "Unsavory" card to your hand, but you have a level of advanced intel on the cards coming up in your deck that can also affect game play.

Was that intentional, or should this card be more limited by reading:
"Search your deck for the first Unsavory card and move it to your hand."

Mithgiladan

Miscellaneous Contribution
Term 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:59 pm
Medals: 1
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Question: Class X, Startown Bar

Post by Mithgiladan » Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:22 pm

This comment also applies to the card "Contingency" where it can be used to search your upcoming Captains Deck cards while looking for Events.

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Question: Class X, Startown Bar

Post by Horizon Jeff » Fri Jun 07, 2019 3:54 pm

Mithgiladan wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 11:48 am
OK,

Where this card says:
"Search your deck for an Unsavory card and move it to your hand."

"Search for an Unsavory" is not limited, so it appears to mean you can use this card as an alternative method to search for "All" "Unsavory" cards while at the same time using it to see what cards you have up-coming at the same time.

Yes, you can only move one "Unsavory" card to your hand, but you have a level of advanced intel on the cards coming up in your deck that can also affect game play.

Was that intentional, or should this card be more limited by reading:
"Search your deck for the first Unsavory card and move it to your hand."
Searching requires the captain to shuffle. That should have been in the rulebook, and I could have sworn it was, but it's not and it'll be added to the errata!

So the answer as to how it should work is the captain searches for a card that meets the conditions, then shuffles their deck.

Wargfn

Free Trader Network Member Kickstarter Backer Shadow Easter Egg Easter Egg Community Honor Boardgamegeek Rating Facebook Google+ Pinterest Reddit
Twitter YouTube
Term 2
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:52 pm
Medals: 12
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Question: Class X, Startown Bar

Post by Wargfn » Sat Jun 08, 2019 1:57 am

Horizon Jeff wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 3:54 pm
That should have been in the rulebook, and I could have sworn it was, but it's not and it'll be added to the errata!
It is in the Rulebook, pg. 23 of the Glossary, Search: When directed to search, a captain may select a card from the designated search location (typically
either the captain’s or adventure decks or discard piles), reveal the selected card to all players, and then perform
any further effects as may be pending.

Doesn't specifically say anything about shuffling the Adventure or Captain's deck afterwards, but I wouldn't let an opponent search either of these decks without shuffling afterwards. Shuffling the discard pile seems overkill, but hey first card in the discard pile might change if you go riffling through there.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests