Exerted Crew/Ships and Gear/Upgrades

A place to find, request and discuss rulings and errata.
Post Reply
Naron5
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2020 3:33 pm
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Exerted Crew/Ships and Gear/Upgrades

Post by Naron5 » Wed Jun 17, 2020 4:36 pm

Hi,

I am new to the game and the rules are not terribly clear on points around exertion so I have two questions to ask;
  • If you :exert your ship (to use its power) can you later use upgrades on the ship that need :exert for use (I understand persistent use upgrades still provide their benefit)?
    Secondly, can a crew member that has been :exert :use a piece of gear? I see in the rules that the gear :use icon requires the crew to :exert so I am assuming that because the crew member is already exerted that cannot happen? Is this the same for ship upgrades - does using them where :exert is needed require the ship to :exert as per my first question?
Thanks in advance for your help.

Mark

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 416
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Exerted Crew/Ships and Gear/Upgrades

Post by Horizon Jeff » Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:51 pm

Naron5 wrote:
Wed Jun 17, 2020 4:36 pm
Hi,

I am new to the game and the rules are not terribly clear on points around exertion so I have two questions to ask;
  • If you :exert your ship (to use its power) can you later use upgrades on the ship that need :exert for use (I understand persistent use upgrades still provide their benefit)?
    Secondly, can a crew member that has been :exert :use a piece of gear? I see in the rules that the gear :use icon requires the crew to :exert so I am assuming that because the crew member is already exerted that cannot happen? Is this the same for ship upgrades - does using them where :exert is needed require the ship to :exert as per my first question?
Thanks in advance for your help.

Mark
Welcome to the game and the forums!

1) If you :exert your :ship, you can still :exert any :upgrade.

2) :crew must :exert to :use, because :use includes both :action and :exert.

Naron5
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2020 3:33 pm
Player Locator: Not enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Exerted Crew/Ships and Gear/Upgrades

Post by Naron5 » Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:57 am

Thanks for the quick reply!

User avatar
Horizon Jeff

Merchant Prince Free Trader Network Member
Term 4
Posts: 416
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:08 pm
Medals: 2
Player Locator: Enrolled in the Player Locator

Re: Exerted Crew/Ships and Gear/Upgrades

Post by Horizon Jeff » Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:51 am

Naron5 wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:57 am
Thanks for the quick reply!
You bet! BoardGameGeek and our Facebook page are also good places for answers, if you're ever stuck on anything else.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests